Children’s, YA, & MG Blog Hop!

Hello!! Stop the presses… I’m blogging!!! 🙂

I have been asked by a friend to participate in a blog hop for children’s, middle grade , and young adult authors. I have been tagged by children’s author Cordelia Dinsmore. In order to participate, I answer some interview questions and tag three other authors. You can find Cordelia’s blog and answers here.

Here are the interview questions and my answers:

1. What are you working on right now?

I always have a few pots on the fire. I’ve just started to edit book #5 in my series so I can figure out what I want for illustrations from my daughter, as well as give it the usual beating & finishing touches. I’ve also been revisiting the prequel that I have been toying with. Add writing a sequel to a women’s fiction that comes out in Nov & you’ll see what I mean about those pots!

#5

2. How does it differ from other works in its genre?

Like the rest of my MG series, Val & Sam bring craziness to the familiar stories like only they can. This is one I really love. As you can guess by the cover it’s a Jack & the Beanstalk tale. It takes quite a different twist bringing the world of humans & giants together with the help of my duo of double-trouble! There are a few “fairy tale re-told” adaptations out there, but is just something about their silliness that brings these stories to a whole new level.

3. Why do you write what you do?

My daughter, Valerie, & her best friend, Samantha, were the inspiration for this series. The responses I got from them after finishing the 1st one is what kept me going. I found myself wanting to put all their silly antics & ditties in print! When I re-read these books I think “parents everywhere are going to kill me when their kids start doing this stuff”. LOL The latest admission from Val was marshmallow peep wars in the microwave. You bet that made it into one of the books! 🙂

Val & Sam
Sam on the left – Val on the right.
This about two years into their friendship – one of my favorite pictures of them.

4. How does your writing process work?

I really don’t have any set process. I write when I can & when an idea smacks me with a 2×4. More often than not, I have no idea where the story will take me. I let things play out page by page & it has always fallen into place. The girls seem to know what they are doing whether they are helping a princess or battling trolls. Something usually happens with them in real life in between books & I’ll find a way to go back & add it in there. They are great motivators for new ideas!

I would like to thank Melody for tagging me and thank all of you for stopping by. Please visit her blog and the blogs of the three people I tag to keep this progressive hop going!

YA author Melanie Hooyenga

YA author Minday Hardwick

And MG author Paul R. Hewlitt

The friends I have tagged will make their post next week on September 19th. Please show your support by leaving a comment as you hop from site to site!

Thank you & have fun!
Ann T. Bugg

Leave a Reply

